Thursday, June 10, 2010

MOUNT RUSHMORE MEMORIAL, faces of American Presidents

Hi, there!,

Do you know these American Presidents? Where are they? What is the Mount Rushmore Memorial?

Mount Rushmore National Memorial is a sculpture carved into the granite face of Mount Rushmore near Keystone, South Dakota in the United States. This memorial was sculpted Gutzon Borglum and then, Lincoln Borglum, they represented four American presidents in the following order: George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Theodore Roosevelt, and Abraham Lincoln. The entire memorial covers 5.17 km2 and is 1,745 m above sea level.

At the beginning of 20th century, there was a historian called Doane Robinson who conceived the idea of carving famous people into the Black Hills region of South Dakota in order to promote tourism in the region. They started constructing the Memorial in 1927, and they finished the presidents' faces were completed between 1934 and 1939. Initially, every president had to be depicted from head to waist, but the lack of funding forced construction to end in October 1941.

If you are more interested, you can click on here:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...